What To Do When You Don’t Know What To Do

FEARS OF A MAN

“Be Bold, Be Brave, and Conquer your fears!”

That is what I told myself this morning when I was pondering while listening to a person who wanted to explore different things in life but feared losing everything he had built so far in his life. He is a popular YouTuber and he recently made a video on it. I saw in the video that he wanted to find the meaning in what he was doing already. Although he loved what he was doing, for some reason it wasn’t giving him the same feeling when he started out years ago. He wondered if what he was doing had become meaningless, now that he had reached the place he had only dreamed of as a young man.

The fear of starting something new and different and whether it would work out was holding him back from venturing out into the unknown. And whether he would succeed or fail in the end, now that he already has success in what he was doing,  he wanted more from life, of what he can be if he took a new road towards an entirely different future. He wanted to dream again. Climb the mountain again. And fall and get back up again because he missed the man he was, a man full of dreams and aspirations and impossible goals. He felt like the purpose in what he was doing was lost now. It wasn’t giving him the satisfaction anymore.

He felt lost because he wanted to find the meaning in what he was doing every day, he loved what he was doing but, it didn’t give him the same feeling that he once experienced anymore and he also wanted to focus on other things he loved which made him think whether he could change his life in any way while doing what he loved for the joy of it and for himself and not for the approval of those around him.

MY THOUGHTS

Everybody goes through a point in life where we are confused and our fears of facing the unknown are real.While I was listening to this man pour out his feelings in the video I started to think about the ways a person could try to figure out what to do when life seems to have lost its meaning and your once colorful life seems to be fading to black and white.

After a period of time, if you don’t have the drive anymore to do the things that you love doing the most, it could be due to one(but not limited to) of the following reasons:

  1. Your FOCUS has shifted,
  2. You want to pursue OTHER INTERESTS that you’ve discovered along the way,
  3. A LIFE-CHANGING event has occurred in your life,
  4. Or it could simply mean you haven’t taken a break in a while.

Sometimes it is good to take some time off from our routine schedule and ponder for a few minutes, hours or even days and look inward to understand who you really are as a person now and what are the core values that define your life. If you haven’t done that in a while you should consider doing it. When I was a kid, I would sketch girls in my diary for hours every day and think to myself that ‘This is what I want to do for the rest of my life!’ But, after I became an adult and graduated college, my priorities changed because of certain life-changing events. And it keeps changing as I move on from one phase of my life to another but I make sure that I focus on my top priority whatever the circumstances may be.

Prioritize the things in your life. When your life turns out differently than what you expected it to be, it is important that we focus on our priorities to drive us forward.

There is always the inherent fear of making a mistake in life. And I have been no stranger to making irreversible mistakes in life. I struggle with making decisions in an impulse and regretting them later. The fear of making a mistake makes me over-think every decision I make. But, I am slowly overcoming my own fears. Though I still have a long way to go, I have come to realize that I don’t have to fear anymore. Mistakes happen. But what you do about it, instead of self-loathing, the next step you take can change the outcome.

So, the point is- If what you are doing right now taking a toll on you and is making you feel like you are missing something in life, my suggestion is that you take a break and do something different! For example- You may love, say, baking or writing. Take some time off today and explore yourself and what more you can be. Initially, it may not make a lot of sense and you may fail or face criticism from those around you but do it for yourself and do not be fazed by what others think or the many dis-approvals from the people around you or people who you look up to. When you believe in yourself to do something different and go for it, I can assure you that the self-satisfaction you get has no bounds. (Even if the people around you don’t really understand what is going on with you and your life, and they keep injecting you with self-doubt).

Engage in a different routine today and keep moving. You never know if something burns unless you light a fire! (This is an example. Don’t go out there and test if something burns by lighting a fire! 😀 ) In our context, you never know unless you do it!

And lastly, take a long deep breath, lie on your back, close your eyes if you need to, and tell yourself, “Don’t give up. Everything is going to be okay!”

P.S. I admired the honesty of the person in this video that I watched which inspired me to write this article. 🙂 You don’t open up to the people around you unless you trust them and, though I am a huge fan of all the videos that he makes, when any person is really straight-forward in expressing what they are going through, it is really inspiring because that isn’t an easy thing to do and, honestly, I believe the people around us are too judgmental and critical just about everything. And it is important to keep going and keep believing in the things we do and the decisions we make! 🙂

Leave a Reply

